New York City is composed of five boroughs.

While Manhattan and Staten Island are islands, Brooklyn and Queens are geographically part of Long Island, and the Bronx is attached to the US mainland.The City of New York is the most populous city in the United States.
With an estimated 2016 population of 8,537,673. New York City is also the most densely populated major city in the United States of America.ocated at the southern tip of the state of New York, the city is the center of the New York metropolitan area, one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world.
New York City consists of five boroughs, each of which is a separate county of New York State. The five boroughs – Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, The Bronx, and Staten Island.